2022 Non-Fiction Contest Winners

And the winners are…

FIRST PLACE ($1,500):

  • ‘Black Pill,’ Carolyn Chung, Toronto, ON


  • ‘Differential,’ Shane Neilson, Cambridge, ON


  • ‘Real Magic,’ Eun Yoon, Chicago, IL

The winning entries, along with judge Jenny Heijun Wills’ essay, will appear in EVENT 52/1 (Spring/Summer 2023).

Congratulations to all the other short-listed entrants:

  • ‘It’s Funny Because It’s True,’ Becky Blake, Toronto, ON
  • ‘Faulty Wiring,’ Morgan Charles, Ottawa, ON
  • ‘Seven Forward, Seven Back,’ Donna Costa, London, ON
  • ‘Never,’ Abigail Deveney, Whistler, BC
  • ‘The Devil You Know,’ Justyna Krol, Vancouver, BC
  • ‘Kickback,’ Jennifer Landrey, Penticton, BC
  • ‘Fat Ladies,’ Mark Mazullo, Saint Paul, MN
  • ‘Reverberations of Institutional Violence: a spectrum,’ Adelle Purdham, Peterborough, ON
  • ‘The Edge of Change,’ Kelly Thompson, Greenwood, NS

Thanks to those writers who sent manuscripts to us and to our contest readers and judge! Visit our Contest page for details on the next contest.

Join our mailing list (on your right), check our blog and follow us on Twitter and Facebook for regular contest updates. Contest terms are subject to change.

Jenny Heijun Wills is the author of Older Sister. Not Necessarily Related (McClelland & Stewart, Penguin Random House Canada), the recipient of the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Non-Fiction Prize in 2019. It also won the Eileen McTavish Sykes Best First Book Prize from the Manitoba Book Awards and was named a Globe & Mail Best book of 2019. Older Sister was also listed as a CBC Best in Canadian non-fiction in 2019 and one of the Winnipeg Free Press’s Top 10 books by a Manitoban writer in the last decade.

She is co-editor of Adoption & Multiculturalism (University of Michigan Press, 2020). This year, her co-edited Teaching Asian North American Texts will be published by the Modern Language Association Press. Wills is Professor of English at the University of Winnipeg, where she Chancellor’s Research Chair and the Director of the Critical Race Network.